In the dead of the night

In the dead of the night, with a burning skin
I sit here outside in our garden, silently
staring into the starless
city sky that graces my eyes.

I listen quietly to the sound of life
around me in the bushes and on the
rain drenched walls as my own internals
rumble away gently.

Who says I have little appreciation for nature,
or for my own external life.
I feel the raw breathing of life, in most things I do
as I reflect on the way I live.

If there is anything I would like to change
it is to have the courage to keep harnessing this energy
this spiritual force of my seeking
to continue loving, and living.

And hoping that love will find me
and when it does, it finds me worthy of this wait;
worthy in its eye to forgive my human flaws
and love me despite it.

Leave a comment